Ballet: Work details

Choreographer: Yuri Possokhov
Composer: Yuri Krasavin
Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
Music title: Variations on a Waltz by Diabelli for piano, Op. 120 – No. 33; Bagatelle 'Für Elise'; Piano Concerto No. 1 in C, Op. 15 – 3rd movement; Sonata No. 7 in D for piano, Op. 10/3 – 2nd movement; Piano Concerto No. 5 in E flat, Op. 73 'Emperor' – 1st movement; Symphony No. 7 in A, Op. 92 – 2nd movement; Symphony No. 3 in E flat, Op. 55 'Eroica' – 4th movement; Sonata No. 21 in C for piano, Op. 53 'Waldstein' – 3rd movement; Sonata No. 23 in F for piano, Op. 57 'Appassionata' – 1st movement
Arranger: Yuri Krasavin
Arranger: Yuri Possokhov
Work definition: Ballet in one act
Notes: The music is a film score by Yuri Krasavin, who arranged and re-orchestrated the Beethoven selections and included sections of his own composition. The choreographer, Yuri Possokhov, re-ordered the music into eight movements for the ballet.
World premiere: 30 March 2000, San Francisco Ballet, War Memorial Opera House, San Francisco
ROH premiere: 13 August 2001, San Francisco Ballet
Magrittomania (2000) San Francisco Ballet (2 performances online)