The Bohemian Girl

First| Previous| 41 of 56 works| Next| Last| List All

Opera: Work details

Composer: Michael William Balfe
Music title: The Bohemian Girl (1843)
Librettist: Alfred Bunn
Work definition: Grand opera in three acts
After: After the ballet pantomime 'La Gypsy' by Jules-Henri Vernoy de Saint-Georges, which was based on the short story 'La gitanilla' by Miguel de Cervantes
Language: English
World premiere: 27 November 1843, Drury Lane, London
ROH premiere: 15 August 1951, Covent Garden Opera Company
ROH company premiere: 6 August 1951, Covent Garden Opera Company, Royal Court Theatre, Liverpool
The Bohemian Girl (1951) Covent Garden Opera Company (19 performances online)

Performances not linked to a production
21 April 1986 Evening 8.30pm Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London