First| Previous| 36 of 81 works| Next| Last| List All

Opera: Work details

Composer: Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
Librettist: Yakov Polonsky
Librettist: Nikolay Chayev
Librettist: Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
Work definition: Comic-fantastic opera in four acts
Title notes: Also known as 'The Tsarina's Slippers', 'The Empress's Slippers', 'The Golden Slippers', 'The Little Slippers', 'The Little Shoes', 'Les caprices d'Oxane'
After: After the short story 'Christmas Eve' by Nikolay Gogol
Language: Russian
Notes: Tchaikovsky's original three-act opera, entitled 'Vakula the Smith', was first performed at the Mariinsky Theatre, St Petersburg in 1876. He subsequently revised it as the four-act 'Cherevichki'. The librettist credit reads: 'Libretto Yakov Polonsky amplified by Nikolay Chayev and the composer after Nikolay Gogol's story 'Christmas Eve'.'
World premiere: 19 January 1887, Bolshoi Theatre, Moscow
ROH premiere: 20 November 2009, The Royal Opera
ROH company premiere: 20 November 2009, The Royal Opera, Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London
The Tsarina's Slippers (2009) The Royal Opera (9 performances online)