Boris Godunov [1908]

First| Previous| 46 of 56 works| Next| Last| List All

Opera: Work details

Composer: Modest Petrovich Musorgsky
Composer: Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov
Librettist: Modest Petrovich Musorgsky
Work definition: Opera in seven scenes, or a prologue and four acts
After/based on: Adapted from the historical tragedy 'Boris Godunov' by Alexander Sergeyevich Pushkin, and from material partly derived from historical works by Nikolay Mikhaylovich Karamzin and others.
Language: Russian
Notes: Musorgsky's original work, composed in 1868-69, consisted of seven scenes grouped into four acts. A revised version of nine scenes (six from the original and three new) was the first version performed, in 1874. After Musorgsky's death, Rimsky-Korsakov re-orchestrated the opera, making a number of cuts and insertions and transposing the last two scenes. This version was first performed in December 1896. Between 1906 and 1908, Rimsky-Korsakov worked on a second version, restoring the cuts yet retaining his own insertions. For many years, Rimsky-Korsakov's 1908 version was the 'standard version' used by opera companies worldwide. The original 1869 work was first performed in 1928.
World premiere: 19 May 1908, Opéra, Paris
ROH premiere: 28 June 1928, Covent Garden Opera Syndicate Limited
ROH company premiere: 21 October 1950, Covent Garden Opera Company, Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London
Related work: Boris Godunov [1869], Boris Godunov [1874], Boris Godunov [1896]
Boris Godunov (1950) Covent Garden Opera Company (15 performances online)

Performances not linked to a production
28 May 2002 Evening Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London