Le Coq d'or

First| Previous| 67 of 81 works| Next| Last| List All

Opera: Work details

Composer: Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov
Music title: Le Coq d'or (1909)
Librettist: Vladimir Nikolayevich Bel'sky
Work definition: Dramatized fable in a prologue, three acts and an epilogue
Title notes: Also known as 'The Golden Cockerel'
After: After the folk tale in verse 'The Tale of the Golden Cockerel' by Alexander Sergeyevich Pushkin, based in turn on 'The House of the Weathercock' and 'Legend of the Arabian Astrologer' from 'The Alhambra' by Washington Irving
Language: Russian
World premiere: 7 October 1909, Solodovnikov Theatre, Moscow
ROH premiere: 5 November 1919, Beecham Opera Company
ROH company premiere: 7 January 1954, Covent Garden Opera Company, Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London
Le Coq d'or (1954) Covent Garden Opera Company (4 performances online)
The Golden Cockerel (1998) The Royal Opera (1 performance online)