Boris Godunov [1869]

Opera: Work details

Composer: Modest Petrovich Musorgsky
Librettist: Modest Petrovich Musorgsky
Work definition: Opera in seven scenes
After/based on: Adapted from the historical tragedy 'Boris Godunov' by Alexander Sergeyevich Pushkin
Language: Russian
Notes: Musorgsky's original work, composed in 1868-69, consisted of seven scenes grouped into four acts. A revised version of nine scenes (six from the original and three new) was the first version performed, in 1874. After Musorgsky's death, Rimsky-Korsakov re-orchestrated the opera, making a number of cuts and insertions and transposing the last two scenes. This version was first performed in December 1896. Between 1906 and 1908, Rimsky-Korsakov worked on a second version, restoring the cuts yet retaining his own insertions. For many years, Rimsky-Korsakov's 1908 version was the 'standard version' used by opera companies worldwide. The original 1869 work was first performed in 1928.
World premiere: 16 February 1928, State Academic Theatre of Opera and Ballet, Leningrad
ROH premiere: 1 August 2005, The Kirov Opera
Related work: Boris Godunov [1874], Boris Godunov [1896], Boris Godunov [1908]
Boris Godunov (2002) The Kirov Opera (3 performances online)