First| Previous| 35 of 53 performances| Next| Last| List All

The Pilgrim's Progress - 31 October 1951 Evening 7.00pm

Opera: Performance details

Company: Covent Garden Opera Company
Venue: Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London
Performance status: Revival
Conductor Leonard Hancock
Chorus Master Douglas Robinson
Leader Thomas Matthews
John Bunyan Inia Te Wiata
Pilgrim Arnold Matters
Evangelist Norman Walker
The Neighbours
Timorous David Tree
Pliable John Cameron
Mistrust William McAlpine
Obstinate Rhydderch Davies
Interpreter Edgar Evans
Shining One Adele Leigh
Shining One Monica Sinclair
Shining One Vera Hoddinott
Watchful Bryan Drake
Herald Geraint Evans
Apollyon Michael Langdon
Heavenly Being Blanche Turner
Heavenly Being Monica Sinclair
Characters in Vanity Fair
Jester David Shields
Demas Hubert Littlewood
Madam Bubble Barbara Howitt
Judas Iscariot Ronald Firmager
Madam Wanton Olwen Davies
Simon Magus Andrew Sellars
Pontius Pilate Basil Hemming
Worldly Glory Thomas Fletcher
Lord Lechery William McAlpine
Usher David Tree
Lord Hategood Rhydderch Davies
Malice Leah Roberts
Superstition Andrew Daniels
Pickthank Jeanne Bowden
Envy John Campbell
Woodcutter's Boy Iris Kells
Mr. By-Ends Parry Jones
Madam By-Ends Jean Watson
Shepherd John Cameron
Shepherd William McAlpine
Shepherd Norman Walker
Voice of a Bird Adele Leigh
A Celestial Messenger Edgar Evans
Voice from Celestial Choir T G Jones
Voice from Celestial Choir Myfanwy Edwards
Voice from Celestial Choir Catherine Harding
Voice from Celestial Choir Elizabeth Goodall
The Angel of the Lord Olga Frei
The Covent Garden Opera Chorus
The Covent Garden Orchestra
Notes: Arnold Matters appears by permission of the Governors of the Sadler's Wells.
Language: English
Durations: Prologue, Acts I and II: 7.02-8.00pm, Act III: 8.17-8.37pm, Act IV: 8.55-9.32pm
Information source: Royal Opera House programme for 31 October 1951 (in Royal Opera House Collections)