First| Previous| 1 of 6 performances| Next| Last| List All

Jenůfa - 10 December 1956 Evening 

Opera: Performance details

Company: Covent Garden Opera Company
Venue: Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London
Performance status: Original season
Conductor Rafael Kubelik
Chorus Master Douglas Robinson
Leader Charles Taylor
foster-daughter of Kostelnička Buryja
Amy Shuard
Grandmother Buryja
owner of the mill
Edith Coates
Laca Klemeň
her step-grandson
John Lanigan
a shepherd boy
Joan Carlyle
Foreman of the mill Otakar Kraus
Kostelnička Buryja
widow and daughter-in-law of Grandmother Buryja (Kostelnička means wife of the sexton or sacristan)
Sylvia Fisher
Števa Buryja
grandson and heir of Grandmother Buryja and step-brother of Laca
Edgar Evans
servant-girl in the mill
Jeannette Sinclair
A Maid Josephine Veasey
Mayor of the village Michael Langdon
His Wife Noreen Berry
their daughter
Marie Collier
A Woman Nada Pobjoy
Musicians, Villagers, Recruits, Millhands and Village girls The Covent Garden Opera Chorus
The Covent Garden Opera Ballet
Students of Chartesey Secondary School
The Covent Garden Orchestra
Language: English
Translator: Edward Downes, Otakar Kraus
Information source: Royal Opera House programme for 10 December 1956 (in Royal Opera House Collections)