First| Previous| 1 of 10 performances| Next| Last| List All

The Pilgrim's Progress - 26 April 1951 Evening 7.00pm

Opera: Performance details

Company: Covent Garden Opera Company
Venue: Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London
Performance status: Original season
Conductor Leonard Hancock
Chorus Master Douglas Robinson
Leader Charles Taylor
John Bunyan Inia Te Wiata
Pilgrim Arnold Matters
Evangelist Norman Walker
Timorous David Tree
Mistrust Dennis Stephenson
Pliable Ernest Davies
Obstinate Rhydderch Davies
Interpreter Edgar Evans
Shining One Adele Leigh
Shining One Patricia Howard
Shining One Vera Hoddinott
Watchful Bryan Drake
Herald Geraint Evans
Apollyon Michael Langdon
Heavenly Being Elizabeth Abercrombie
Heavenly Being Monica Sinclair
Madam Wanton Audrey Bowman
Madam Bubble Barbara Howitt
Lord Lechery Dennis Stephenson
Lord Hategood Rhydderch Davies
Woodcutter's Boy Iris Kells
Mr. By-Ends Parry Jones
Mrs. By-Ends Jean Watson
Shepherd John Cameron
Shepherd William McAlpine
Shepherd Norman Walker
Bird Voice Adele Leigh
A Celestial Messenger Edgar Evans
The Covent Garden Opera Chorus
The Covent Garden Orchestra
Notes: The stage manager's reports for this performance and the performance on 30th April 1951 both record the involvement of the BBC, but it is unclear which performance was broadcast.
Durations: Prologue, Act I and Act II: 7.06-8.07pm, Act III: 8.32-8.52pm, Act IV and Epilogue: 9.20-9.57pm
Radio - live relay: BBC; 26 April 1951
Information source: Royal Opera House programme for 26 April 1951 (in Royal Opera House Collections)