First| Previous| 1 of 14 performances| Next| Last| List All

Tiresias - 9 July 1951 Evening 8.00pm

Ballet: Performance details

Company: Sadler's Wells Ballet
Venue: Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London
Performance status: Gala performance
Guest Conductor Constant Lambert
Leader Charles Taylor
Tiresias Michael Somes
Neophyte Margaret Dale
Snake Pauline Clayden
Snake Brian Shaw
Athlete Jill Gregory
Athlete Anne Heaton
Athlete Rowena Jackson
Athlete Fiorella Keane
Athlete Jane Shore
Athlete Valerie Taylor
Athlete Angela Walton
Athlete Dorothea Zaymes
Warrior Bryan Ashbridge
Warrior William Barrett
Warrior Philip Chatfield
Warrior Desmond Doyle
Warrior Henry Legerton
Warrior Kenneth MacMillan
Warrior Ray Powell
Warrior Franklin White
Priestess Diane Forhan
Priestess Anna Carne
Priestess Mary Drage
Priestess Jill Gregory
Priestess Catherine Boulton
Priestess Rowena Jackson
Priestess Fiorella Keane
Priestess June Lesley
Priestess Anya Linden
Priestess Lorna Mossford
Priestess Meriel Evans
Priestess Jane Shore
Priestess Joan Benesh
Priestess Wendy Winn
Priestess Angela Walton
Priestess Brenda Taylor
Tiresias Margot Fonteyn
Her Lover John Field
Neophyte Margaret Dale
Snake Pauline Clayden
Snake Brian Shaw
Shepherdess Christine du Boulay
Shepherdess Anne Heaton
Shepherdess Julia Farron
Shepherdess Rosemary Lindsay
Shepherdess Greta Hamby
Shepherdess Rosemary Valaire
Shepherdess Valerie Taylor
Shepherdess Dorothea Zaymes
Shepherd Peter Clegg
Shepherd Kenneth Melville
Shepherd Douglas Steuart
Shepherd Gilbert Vernon
Zeus Alfred Rodrigues
Hera Gerd Larsen
Tiresias Michael Somes
Neophyte Margaret Dale
Snake Pauline Clayden
Snake Brian Shaw
Priestesses, Warriors, Shepherdesses, Shepherds
Solo Pianist Gordon Watson
The Covent Garden Orchestra
Notes: In the programme Kenneth MacMillan's surname is spelled 'Macmillan'.
Durations: Entire work: 8.50-9.56pm
Event: Number 2 in Sadler's Wells Ballet Festival Gala 9 July 1951
Information source: Royal Opera House Gala programme for 9 July 1951 and stage management reports 1951-52 (in Royal Opera House Collections)